APPLY: 2023 APBF Evaristo International Poetry Prize for African Writers

The APBF Evaristo Prize for African Poetry is an annual award designed to inspire and support emerging poets who have the potential to gain international recognition. Initially founded in 2012 as the Brunel International African Poetry Prize (BIAPP) by British writer Bernardine Evaristo, who dedicated a decade to overseeing the prize, it has since been renamed and entrusted to the African Poetry Book Fund for management starting in 2022.

Summary for 2023 APBF Evaristo International Poetry Prize for African Writers

  • Host: African Poetry Book Fund (APBF)
  • Eligible Countries: African Countries
  • Reward: USD $1,500
  • No IELTS Required
  • Deadline: November 1, 2023

Details of the 2023 APBF Evaristo International Poetry Prize for African Writers

The African Poetry Book Fund is dedicated to fostering and enhancing the growth of poetic literature through its book series, competitions, educational events, and partnerships with publishers, festivals, literary agents, academic institutions, conferences, and any organizations passionate about the art of African poetry. We are steadfast in our pursuit of the resources needed to uphold this mission and to guarantee that all our initiatives are executed with the utmost excellence.


To be eligible for the APBF Evaristo Prize for African Poetry, the following criteria must be met:

  • The prize is open to African writers, defined as those born in Africa, nationals or residents of African countries, or those with African parents.
  • The prize is available to African poets who have not previously published a full-length poetry book at the time of submission. Self-published poetry books, chapbooks, and pamphlets are exempt from this requirement.
  • Submissions in English are accepted, and poems in translation are also welcomed. If the winning work is translated, a portion of the prize money will be awarded to the translator.
  • Current or former paid employees of the University of Nebraska Press, Akashic Books, or Amalion Press, as well as current faculty, students, or employees at the University of Nebraska, are not eligible for the prizes.
  • African poets who have published a chapbook in the New-Generation African Poets Chapbooks Box Set series are still eligible for the Evaristo African Poetry Prize if they haven’t published a full-length poetry book.


  • The Evaristo Prize for African Poetry is an annual award of $1,500 presented to ten poems composed by an African poet.

Required Documents

  • Poems must be the original work of the entrant and be no longer than 40 lines each.
  • Poems may have been previously published or won previous awards.
  • People who have entered previously for the prize can re-submit but are advised to share new poems.
  • While we have no specific formatting rules, we suggest sending your manuscript in Times New Roman or Arial, 12-point font, single-spaced. We also prefer one poem per page, meaning a new poem does not begin on the same page on which another ends. The entire submission must be in black ink, no colors.

Method of Application

All submissions must be made through Submittable. Poems should be included in a single document with no identifiable information. Poems cannot be modified after submission.

The Submittable cover letter, which will remain concealed from screeners and judges, must contain the entrants’ name, nationality, country of birth, complete address (including the country of permanent residence), personal email address, and telephone number.

Megafea Editors