Study-In-Australia: 2024 Australia Awards Fellowship For International Students

The Australia Awards Fellowship program aims to cultivate influential networks and foster leadership by enhancing collaborations between Australian institutions and regional partner organizations. These fellowships are directed toward experienced mid-career and senior officials and professionals who possess the capacity to drive development initiatives in crucial areas and enhance the institutional capabilities of partner nations through their leadership.

Under the Australia Awards Fellowships, Australian institutions have the opportunity to seek funding for hosting and facilitating various professional development initiatives.

Scholarship Summary for 2024 Australia Awards Fellowship For International Students

  • Host Country: Australia
  • Study Abroad: Study in Australia
  • Eligible Countries: 54 Countries
  • Reward: AUD $34,500 per Fellow
  • No IELTS Required
  • Deadline: November 7, 2023

Details for 2024 Australia Awards Fellowship For International Students

The Australia Awards Fellowships encompass a diverse spectrum of professional development activities, such as work attachments, supervised research, management and leadership courses, study tours, program meetings, and site visits. These fellowships offer flexibility in terms of duration, spanning from 2 weeks to 52 weeks. They cover a wide range of specialized training, from enhancing the endoscopy skills of Timorese doctors in two prominent Australian hospitals to equipping Vietnamese government officers with knowledge on coastal and marine conservation and sustainability.

Scholarship Requirements:

  • be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Fellowship
  • not be a permanent resident or be applying for permanent residency in Australia or partner of someone who is
  • be a citizen of an eligible country
  • not be current serving military personnel
  • be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs for (DFAT sponsored) student visas subclass 500
  • be able to participate in the Fellowship.
  • be able to travel without family members as DFAT will only fund and provide visa support letters for individual Fellows, not their family members
  • Fellows with a disability that requires assistance must travel with a career.

Scholarship Duration and Reward

For the Australia Awards Fellowship, Australian organizations are eligible to seek funding of up to AUD $34,500 per Fellow, with a cap of 15 Fellows. This funding is intended to cover the following expenses:

  • return air travel and relevant in-Australia travel
  • training costs
  • accommodation and living expenses
  • medical insurance costs when in Australia (for Fellowship holder only)
  • special assistance for people with disability
  • program overhead fee.

Countries & Area of Interest

Participating Countries for the Australia Awards Fellowship

Southeast Asia

Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam

South Asia and Middle East

Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iraq, Jordan, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories and Sri Lanka


Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Wallis and Futuna


Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe



Please note: Proposals for Brunei Darussalam, New Caledonia, French Polynesia and Singapore will not be considered in Round 19.

Priority Areas

Fellowship programs must align with the following six development priority areas:

  • Climate change, adaptation, resilience and green energy transition
  • Gender equality, disability equity and social inclusion
  • Health
  • Digital Economy (including cyber, critical technology and media engagement)
  • Maritime and the Blue Economy
  • Infrastructure and connectivity

Method of Application

Applications for Australia Awards Fellowship ROUND 19 are currently open and should be submitted through the online platform, Smartygrants.

Kindly take note of the following:

  • The deadline for submissions is 11.59pm (AEDT), 7 November 2023.
  • Late or incomplete applications will not be considered for assessment.
  • Applications sent via email or fax will not be accepted for assessment.

Megafea Editors